Home > Just For Fun, Korean Dramas > An Introduction to Chuno, My Style

An Introduction to Chuno, My Style

Tuesday, March 23, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dear Thundie! You asked why I wanted to watch Chuno, right? I finally sat down and marathoned the rest of my eps yesterday, and I have to say, it surpasses expectations. (On the downside, am all caught up now, so… [insert nail biting].)

So I thought it would be your average boring melodrama of one girl with like, the 5 other attractive men in the cast, but no! It actually has plot, plot not driven by Lee Da-hae’s snow-white skin. Not that nakedness on this show is gratuitous or anything, it’s just that in the first 6 episodes, all that manflesh and heaving bosoms is spoiling me a little.

Grumbling about distracting nekkidness aside, the pacing, the cinematography, the music are all perfect. The acting leaves me a little cold at times, but that’s just because the set-up is begging for narm. (That link goes to tvtropes. This is a warning for you to inform your friends and family in case you never make it out of that site.)

Picture feudal Korea at the beginning of the Qing dynasty, plots are afoot, slavery abounds, and people insult each other with words like ‘contumelious’ and ‘slattern’. (I recognized X’s translating style about halfway through episode 1. A difficult job well done. :D)

This is DAE-GIL. He is responsible for about 60% of the chest-baring in this show.

(His comrades in battle contribute to another 30% or so.)

DAE-GIL is a former noble whose slave burned down his house (and thus lost him his aristocracy. Eh, European Nobility Is Not Asian Nobility) and has become a slave hunter in revenge.

When not wandering around being half-naked, he gloomily broods over his aristocratic past and, not that you’re surprised, his lost love, who was herself a slave. Her standards were apparently low enough to fall for Dae-gil’s wooing her with rocks.

Real, honest to goodness rocks. Baby girl UN-HYUN escaped during the disaster and since Dae-gil thinks she’s still alive, he’s been looking for her for 10 years.

DAE-GIL: I WILL FIND HER!

What he doesn’t know is that she’s changed her name to KIM HYE-WON, bought a nobility status (European Nobility Is Like Asian Nobility After All) courtesy of her brother, run away from her arranged marriage and then found a random hot dude to travel with.

All of which makes her not only extremely stupid (read: brave), but also ahead of her times, what with women generally being seen as worth less than a good horse back then.

Girls, when running away from home, don’t dress like a man. It never works as well as you think it should.

Which brings us to TAE-HA, the man who rescues Un-hyun/Hye-won (look, throwing off the shackles of slavery will inevitably bring confusion, chief among them identity) when her disguise is … well, not as convincing as she’d hoped.

Seriously, girls. Bring pepper spray.

Anyway, Tae-ha is on a mission of his own to rescue to last surviving son of the former Crown Prince, who’d died of a severe case of Making Daddy Unhappy. He was a loyal general in the royal army until he proved to be too noble and was promptly demoted to slave. Cue angst.

But now rumours of poison on the young prince’s island of exiledom propel him into action.

Obviously there’s an evil puppetmaster behind the scenes. So Tae-ha must hurry!

But Un-hyun/Hye-won won’t go back to marry some old lecherous fart, so she’s going to join forces with the man who saved her life.

THIS IS GREAT FUN TO WATCH, PEOPLE. IT HAS:

UNF.

SAUCY WENCHES!

COMPLAINING ABOUT HAVING TO COOK!

SLAVE CONSPIRACIES!

SCADS

AND SCADS

OF BEAUTIFUL

… SCENERY.

Pics taken from myself, dramabeans.com and darkeyedwolf.

  1. flyingcrispi
    Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Just saw you’re back! Awesome!

    Unfortunately, I do not share your opinion about Chuno. I watched a few episodes, but it really didn’t draw me in as other dramas do.
    Lee Dae-Hee’s character was nothing but utterly annoying (I think it’s her eyes, they make me want to punch her). The whole revenge “you-destroy-me-i-destroy-you” plot seemed overrused and the “looking-for-the-love-of-my-life” plot just made me want to get in the drama and tell him “she died and went to heaven, now start looking for another woman.”
    Sure the scenery is pretty, but still.

    And one thing that REALLY annoys me (in all sageuk dramas) is the use of those puppetmaster grandpas who look nice but really are evil. I guess it’s unavoidable, but maybe they could just concentrate on the less scheming actors?

    And the rocks thing? I didn’t believe it ’til I saw it a second time. He throws her rocks ? Couldn’t he just buy her a pair of gloves? Or a portable fire in a jar?

    And so, all this leads to the question: how are you? Is med school going ok?

    • sevenses
      Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      I think it helps that I just came off of watching Down With Love, which is so fluffy I want to use it to make souffle with, but uh, basically Chuno’s kind of like a Bond movie – pretty, angsty and has the sort of plot that doesn’t really stand up to close scrutiny. Plus, eye candy!

      Lol! But without puppetmaster grandpas, the king would have to get his hands dirty, and we could never have that.

      I think it would be hard for them to show that she hung on to a glove for 10 years. It would be rotting, 4rlz. But yeah, that was purely conjecture. (I would have juggled duties so she didn’t have to be outside, but you know, to each their own.)

      Oh man, school is kicking my ass. (I decided that I didn’t suit med school, and got out while I could. Sadly, I’ve picked something nearly as hard.)

  2. samsooki
    Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Hi Sevenses!

    Was wondering what you thought of HW-TH vs. UN-DG vs. SH-DG.

    =)

    Any preferences?

    I started out being totally 110% UN-DG, but then recently I abstained from making a final determination pending further revelation.

    Hehe!

    • sevenses
      Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      Hmm. 2 things:

      1) I look at Dae-gil and see this fundamentally broken man who cannot move forward without his version of Un-hyun. He lives in the past, completely, because he doesn’t have a purpose in life without her. But unfortunately for him, she’s dead. Which brings us to…

      2) Un-hyun has become Kim Hye-won, for better or worse, and is in fact a different person. Did Dae-gil and Un-hyun have a loving relationship? Absolutely. Hye-won and Dae-gil are another story. The two may have had a chance but they kept on missing each other, as per fate/sadistic writers. So things are different now, and Hye-won has made the choice to stay with Tae-ha.

      Bonus! I don’t think Seol-hwa, much as I like her, has a chance with Dae-gil either. He’s just so broken that I’m not sure he can be with anyone else. Dae-gil’s role is to provide a foil to the ever-perfect Tae-ha, who’s almost a Mary Sue in his heroic capacity to be noble and good. So he may not get a happy ending, even though I do hope all of them settle off in the countryside with some land, non-militant cows and tons of children running underfoot.

      I guess I’m taking Tae-ha’s side after all, huh?

  3. thundie
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Hehe, thanks for the honorary mention. (Psst, you may regret ever associating me with Chuno after you read a certain recap rearing its head this week.)

    Love the TVtropes site. Now I know where you’ve been all this while! πŸ˜†

    “Chuno… has the sort of plot that doesn’t really stand up to close scrutiny.”

    Agreed. I’ve decided, after ep 18, that it’s pointless trying to make sense of why A leads to F and not to B, that nitpicking at the small details is just going to age me, and that it’s best to park my brains at the door before I commence a watch. This drama has turned out to be much more lightweight than I imagined it to be at the beginning. Also, I’m not shipping anyone except the artist and the horse vet, and I don’t mind how it ends as long as I get one more scene of Lee Jong-HOT with Kim Young-ok.

    Have I told you how happy I am that you are back? πŸ˜€

    • sevenses
      Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 8:05 am

      Eh, it’s fine to have differences of opinion! Goodness knows I’m not holding Chuno up as a masterwork of plot, just prettiness. (Though there’s a joke going around that ‘abs = plot’, so in fact Chuno does have quite good plotting.)

      My secret theory is that they’re trying for as much skin as possible without being chased off prime-time TV, hence all the fighting in slow-mo and uh, disrobing.

      TVTropes is a sinkhole! Use the buddy system, or there really aren’t any guarantees. It’s worse than cracked.com and wiki combined, so imagine that. Though the dearth of Asian dramas should be corrected.

      Awww. I’m glad to be back too. *hugs you*

  4. thundie
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 1:57 am

    And oh, I forgot to say I totally πŸ˜† when I saw your last tag for this post.

  5. μ§κ·€μ–Έλ‹ˆ
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Only halfway? Awww… Lost my touch. γ…‹γ…‹

    • sevenses
      Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 8:01 am

      OTL

      In my defense, I was too busy cooing at the sheer beauty of the production values and Jang Hyuk’s chocolate abs to notice the subbing. But once I saw ‘slattern’ and the other eloquent swear words, I knew it had to be you. πŸ˜€

  6. samsooki
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Chuno subs 졜고, X μ–Έλ‹ˆ μ§±μ΄μ—μš”!
    μ§κ·€μ–Έλ‹ˆ – “κ·Έλ ‡μΉ˜.. κ·Έλ ‡μΉ˜… γ…‹γ…‹γ…‹”

    hehe.

  7. Anonymous
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Hi sevenses!

    Welcome back to the blogosphere, I dearly missed your witty posts! Are you sure you are not my long lost other sister. My current still around other sister just sent me the links to DWL opening and end themes and also thinks med school= bad. πŸ˜‰

    Back to the correct topic – Chuno – I have been following the actual plot on FF and with half a brain turned to pure oogle mode, so yes, the plot is quite possibly as fluffy as it comes. But the whole DG-UN/HW-TH love triangle is quite possibily the most riveting foursome since k-drama (re)invented the threesome for the modern drama generation.

    But as the end is near, I find myself just thinking….eh, whatever happens, I still have them abs.

    Thanks for the cute Chuno write up, and some gorgeous screencaps, tho a few fewer LDH boobies caps would have been fine with me as well.

  8. ockoala
    Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Anonomo above was me. Forgot basic commenting etiquette for a second there.

  9. Saturday, November 30, 2013 at 3:53 am

    Thanks in support of sharing such a fastidious idea, paragraph
    is nice, thats why i have read it completely

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

