Home > Cultural & Political, Music & Celebs, Rambling > Rage Blackouts and Roman Polanski

Rage Blackouts and Roman Polanski

Sunday, March 21, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been experiencing rage blackouts every time I’ve seen the Roman Polanski debate (why is this even a goddamn debate??) online, from the time he was arrested up to the outpouring of celebrity support until a few days ago when they announced that he might get off on the possibility of judicial misconduct.

People, this is a man, who, more than 30 years ago, used his position as a famous director to drug and force a 13 year old girl into having penetrative sex with him.

DRUGGED.

FORCED.

That means rape. What’s more, he admitted it at the trial. And yet some really famous Hollywood names have stood by him, as if to say that rape isn’t an issue because he also happens to have made Chinatown and a couple of other great movies.

Look, I’m not invalidating his achievements. But he committed a CRIME and was sentenced for it. His way of facing justice was to run away for more than 30 years, enjoying luxury and fame, and basically having all the amenities of upper class life at his fingertips. He had a wife and children, and possibly the only indignity he ever suffered was not being able to pick up his Oscars in person.

I’m sorry, what part of that was actually any sort of punishment for being a rapist?

If he’d already served his sentence and people were going after him in some witchhunt, I would understand everyone speaking up for him. BUT HE RAN AWAY.

And now they want him to face up to what he’s done, and like a coward, he’s staying at his chalet, waiting for a team of lawyers to rip into a woman who is so traumatized by the experience and the media’s derision that she’d much rather just forget everything and move on.

Yeah, good luck with that, Roman Polanski. You have money and fame on your side, but I hope you burn in hell.

I’ve maintained radio silence on the subject here because every time I try to write I end up with a bunch of capslock keymashing, not exactly conducive to uh, discourse. But really, I couldn’t stay silent anymore.

(And don’t get me started on Terry Richardson.)

Sources: Salon.com, Jezebel.com

  1. v
    Sunday, March 21, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    yeah… i don’t often comment but I guess in this case I have to say that I totally agree with you… I mean come on, the whole thing is just ridiculous. It’s almost unbelievable that some people would defend him!! just thinking about what he has done makes me want to vomit… yeah, i do enjoy some of his movies but that does not in anyways let him off the hook!!! anyways, just having my say.. lol. btw, glad to have you back.

  1. Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

