Home > Just For Fun > Supah Kyuuuuut Cupcakes!

Supah Kyuuuuut Cupcakes!

Thursday, November 6, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

These are almost too adorable to eat. (Due to almost hellish backload of recaps and episodes and the such, and also, horror of horrors, am learning how to screencap, will probably not resume normal programming soon.)

Pikachuuuuuuuuuu, I choose you! (Or in my case probably Evee and its 10^infinity evolutions.)

Pokemon cupcakes

And if that isn’t geeky enough for you, here:

mario-cupcakes

For all you traditionalists:

pacman-cupcakes

And the quintessential American cartoon:
garfield-cupcakes

Usually I’m grateful that my cupcakes come out of the oven in the right shape, you know? But the makers of these totally went above and beyond the call of culinary duty. 😀

And some English trivia, because I’m a word nerd – in Canada we call them muffins (go to England, ask for a muffin, and you will get a bread-like thing that has no sugar in it; woe), in the States they’re cupcakes (depending on size and nutritional content, lol), but in Ireland, they’re called fairy buns. (*snerk*)

Pictures courtesy of Cakewrecks.

Categories: Just For Fun Tags: ,
  1. dotti
    Friday, November 7, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I complain Dw<

    Cavity, it burns.

  2. dotti
    Friday, November 7, 2008 at 3:52 am

    My whole post didn’t come out? Strange.. In England we also call them muffins! I class the big ones as muffins and the small ones has cupcakes or fairy cakes~

  3. sevenses
    Friday, November 7, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Hmm, I’m not sure why it did that either – did you use one of the ‘>’ or ‘<‘ brackets? Sometimes the layout thinks it’s nonsense code and ignores what’s inside it.

    They are called muffins too? I’m glad! A friend of mine asked for muffins at this coffee shop and they gave her the bread+butter version. 😛 (And fairy buns as a name is just too good to miss.)

  4. Ronan
    Saturday, November 8, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Even in Canada, there’s usually a difference between cupcakes and muffins… I think cupcakes are more just cake batter in a muffin cup, whereas muffins are more like loaf or something in a muffin cup…

    I dunno, I always distinguished between the two. “Muffin” sounds healthier than “cupcake” 😛

  5. Dahee Fanel
    Saturday, November 8, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I always call them cupcakes, and I’m Canadian…Muffins are the bread stuff, while cupcakes are the far less healthier version with icing. I’ve never heard of cupcakes being called muffins before…:o You learn something new everday, I guess.

  6. Sunday, November 9, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Cupcakes = muffins + FROSTING! (and are therefore superior)

    Although sometimes people think muffins mean the English muffin kind and then I’m sad. Not that English muffins are bad, but when you’re expecting a cupcakey lump of fat n’ calories, ’tis not the same at all.

    Those cupcakes look awesome but I’ve always found fondant (that’s fondant, right?) weird to eat. Like I’m eating Playdoh.

    Also, I love cakewrecks. Particularly this one: http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2008/08/what-we-have-here-is-failure-to.html

  7. sevenses
    Sunday, November 9, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    For a long time I assumed it had something to do with size – cupcakes are smaller, while muffins can be huge mutant fluffs of dough bigger than your fist. Then I discovered cinnamon buns, chocolatines, croissants etc, and um, converted.

    I actually can’t handle eating any sort of frosting/fondant type things. Can’t put it even anywhere near my mouth (which gets interesting when there are birthday cakes involved), so there’s always this pile of frosty goop and a few crumbs left over on my plate. In this case, though, I’d put them into a vacuum container and frame it on the wall. Esp the Mario ones. 😀

  8. Jens Müller
    Sunday, May 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    So cool!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

