Home > Books & Magazines > First Chapter of The Demon’s Lexicon!

First Chapter of The Demon’s Lexicon!

Thursday, October 23, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I think you all know by now that I am a highly excitable person. Therefore, when today, (supposedly studying for molecular bio, bad Sevenses!), I saw that Sarah Rees Brennan had put the first chapter of her new book out, I immediately squealed, dropped my heavy bio book on my toe (ow), and went in search of delicious readings.

Needless to say, not a lot of studying was done.

Anyhoo, SRB is one of my favourite authors, whom I’d been following since 2003, or thereabouts. Her characterization and metaphorical language (as well as plot, says the inner plot development whore) are to die for. When she announced that her first book was due to be published in June 2009, fans cried their joy and then dismay (because at the time, there was a healthy year and a half or so till the publish date).

I’ll stop rambling, and let you read. Decide if you like or not:


The Demon’s Lexicon
Chapter One

The pipe under the sink was leaking again. It wouldn’t have been so bad, except that Nick kept his favorite sword under the sink.

He rescued it, wiped the steel, and absently tested the edge with his thumb while water flowed out onto the kitchen floor. Once he’d laid it aside, he realized the knees of his jeans were already soaked through.

Alan brought Nick his toolbox.

“Care to lend a hand?” Nick inquired without much hope.

“No, I’m too busy cooking,” Alan said. “You do the heavy lifting around here. I’m more the sensitive intellectual type.”

Nick raised his eyebrows. “Oh, get in the kitchen and bake me a pie, woman.”

Don’t you love them already?

Read the rest of the first chapter here.

The Demon’s Lexicon is available for purchase on Amazon UK. (And coming soon to Amazon.com!)

Love,

Sevenses

  1. AC
    Friday, October 24, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Wow, I remember molec bio. It was…fun… well the material was interesting. The tests, not so much.

  2. flyingcrispi
    Friday, October 24, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    “inner plot development whore” XD

    “SRB is one of my favourite authors, whom I’d been following since 2003, or thereabouts […] When she announced that her first book was due to be published in June 2009”
    Waiiit. You’re a fan of hers, but she never published any book? I don’t rly understand…

  3. sevenses
    Friday, October 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    AC: Yeah… we didn’t start eukaryotic transcription and translation yet… I quiver in fear.

    Fc: She wrote fanfic – that’s how she got really popular and established the fanbase. 😀

    (There is also the inner character development whore and the inner figurative language whore, though those are quieter.)

  4. flyingcrispi
    Friday, October 24, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Oh, ok, it makes sense now! Thanks. The first chapter was quite fun to read thought I didn’t understand all the adjectives …
    I hope it gets published in french!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

