Home > Downloads, Music & Celebs > Revisiting Old Favourites

Revisiting Old Favourites

Tuesday, September 30, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, watching the first two eps of Painter (zomm so good people, go watch it) reminded me of 青花瓷, or Blue Vase, which kinda sorta has painting and artistry in general as a theme. The vase and paintings he talks about are anthropomorphic – the beautiful woman who forever charms and beckons but is never possessed by the artisan.

Anyhoo, first impressions of Painter. It has pluses on plot (interesting setting and beginning), acting (Moon and Park do a greeeeat job), atmosphere (the right mixture of levity and a sense of impeding disaster), and the most vibrant palette I’ve seen in a while. Everything is just so lush – not sure if it’s because this series is visually oriented to begin with, or my inner eye for greenery has withered of disuse from living in a city, but dudes, this show is gorgeous.

The only thing I find a bit weird is the relationship portents in this show. Something tells me that the brother is feeling incestuous and Park is just old. (Ack, the Severus Snape and Hermione Granger kind of age difference.) But let’s not dwell on that. 😀

But don’t take my word for it! Go watch it yourself!

Download the song here.

Original lyrics and translation below:

青花瓷 (Qing Hua Ci) Blue Vase

词:方文山 (Lyrics: Fang Wen Shan)
曲:周杰伦 (Composer: Jay Chou)
唱:周杰伦 (Singer: Jay Chou)

素胚勾勒出青花笔锋浓转淡
瓶身描绘的牡丹一如你初妆
冉冉檀香透过窗心事我了然
宣纸上 走笔至此搁一半

The brush strokes lightly to outline blue flowers as the ink fades in intensity
A peony decorates the vase, like your first time in finery
The scent of incense wafting through the window enlightens me
On paper, the progress of the brush stops halfway

釉色渲染仕女图韵味被私藏
而你嫣然的一笑如含苞待放
你的美一缕飘散 去到我去不了的地方

The glazed portrait of a woman hides her charm
Yet your enticing smile waits to blossom like a flowerbud
Your beauty has vanished to a place where I cannot go

天青色等烟雨 而我在等你
炊烟袅袅升起 隔江千万里
在瓶底书汉隶仿前朝的飘逸
就当我为遇见你伏笔

The blue sky awaits its rain, and I wait for you
Mist rises gently, from a thousand miles away
The artisan imitates elegant Han calligraphy
As I pick up my brush in order to see you

天青色等烟雨 而我在等你
月色被打捞起 晕开了结局
如传世的青花瓷自顾自美丽
你眼带笑意

The blue sky awaits its rain, and I wait for you
The moonlight has been netted, confusing the ending
Like the legendary blue vases priding itself on beauty
Your eyes smile at me

色白花青的锦鲤跃然於碗底
临摹宋体落款时却惦记着你
你隐藏在窑烧里千年的秘密
极细腻 犹如绣花针落地

Leaping blue carp on the bowl’s bottom come alive
Dedicating a Song inscription, I think of you
The secret hidden for so long in the kiln
So exquisite, like falling embroidery needles

帘外芭蕉惹骤雨 门环惹铜绿
而我路过那江南小镇惹了你
在泼墨山水画里 你从墨色深处被隐去

Rain patters down on the banana tree as the door handle rusts
Passing through the small Jiangnan town, I met you
You fade into the dark depths of the ink painting

天青色等烟雨 而我在等你
炊烟袅袅升起 隔江千万里
在瓶底书汉隶仿前朝的飘逸
就当我为遇见你伏笔

The blue sky awaits its rain, and I wait for you
Mist rises gently, from a thousand miles away
The artisan imitates elegant Han calligraphy
As I pick up my brush in order to see you

天青色等烟雨 而我在等你
月色被打捞起 晕开了结局
如传世的青花瓷自顾自美丽
你眼带笑意

The blue sky awaits its rain, and I wait for you
The moonlight has been netted, confusing the ending
Like the legendary blue vases priding itself on beauty
Your eyes smile at me

Lyrics taken from baidu.com, translation mine, credit if taken. Enjoy!

Sevenses

  1. Mao
    Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I’m glad you like The Painter of the Wind too! 🙂
    I’m currently watching it also, and really like it!
    Yup, MGY acted really well. Can’t wait for the rest! ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

