Home > Korean Dramas > A Comparison of TODAW and Iljimae

A Comparison of TODAW and Iljimae

Friday, August 1, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

The other day, I was flipping through Time of Dog and Wolf when I was hit by the realization, “Dang, this show’s got tons in common with Iljimae.” Superficially and otherwise. Here’s a list of them:

– Both leads were played by Lee Jun Ki (aha, obviously).
– Both leads were named Lee something (Lee Soo Yeon and Lee Kyum).
– Both leads lost their memories.
– Both fell in love with the daughter of someone they wanted revenge upon (Eun Chae and Ji Woo).
– Had short love story with the girl when they were little. (Say what you will, finding true love at 8 is still kind of creepy.)
– Met by accident with the girl when they were grown.
– Both had several personalities going on at the same time.
– Becomes enemies with his brother under circumstances that the other does not know about.
– His biggest enemy was very close to his birth father once upon a time.
– Lives under the shadow of avenging his parent’s death.
– Both saw a parent die in front of his eyes.
– Identifies the murderer of his parents by some sort of symbol (tattoo and symbol on sword).
– The brother falls in love with the same person as he does.
– Both live with adoptive parents.
– The adoptive fathers die for their sons.
– Both had stones tied to their feet and thrown into a body of water.
– Both used the flashback narration at the beginning.
– The ending left both their fates somewhat hanging, though they were both shown to be fine and in action (but sekritly!) afterwards.

Conclusion: The PD/writers definitely watched TODAW.

Also? Lee Jun Ki managed to play two remarkably similar characters in very different ways. Kudos to him.

Sevenses

  1. flyingcrispi
    Friday, August 1, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Wow, I wouldn’t have done the connection with my brain if you hadn’t pointed that out.

    btw, I hope our mom’s okay!

  2. SAMA
    Friday, August 1, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU… i also find sth interesting too haha

    – Park shi hoo was in “How to meet a perfect neighbor” with was on aired at the same time as TBDAW.( SBS vs MBC)

    – The iljimae PD directed “Invicible Parachute agent” which main character was Eric, and now Eric’s drama on air now is Strongest Chilwoo which similar to Iljimae….^^

    – The hunter’s son is the NIS staff…. kekeke

    – both dramas lack of romantic scene !! they focus on action, revenge,…Is it favourite plot of Junki? i guess ^^ and now i can’t imagine how can he act in romantic drama like coffee prince? or melodrama like stairway to heaven… his image of my opinion is a great fighter. not romantic guy….

  3. gulew
    Saturday, August 2, 2008 at 6:29 am

    SAMA, you should watch My Girl again and see how hopelessly romantic junki can be.. πŸ˜€

  4. SAMA
    Saturday, August 2, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Dear gulew ^^ I also watched My Girl and I like him too… Jeong Woo is damn cute and charming haha. but maybe his recent work are in action genre. So my romantic jeongwoo faded away in my memories ^^

    Virgin snow is also good ^^ junki is so cute although the story is too simple.

  5. jessica
    Saturday, August 2, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    thanks for the comparison… i too was watching TBDAW untin i can get iljimae dvd from the korean grocery store and was realizing alot of the similarities and had actually came to your website to comment about it until i noticed you did it first… thanks

    Love both TBDAW and Iljimae…

    Oh did you guys hear that if there arent any good parts being offered after iljimae soon than lee jun ki will go to his mandatory service for 2 years… i cant believe that cuz 1 i thought he already attended and 2 cuz i expect a drama from him every summer lol

  6. Frequentflyer120
    Monday, August 4, 2008 at 3:08 am

    wow. i knew they were similar, but that is a lot of stuff.

    i love lee junki, he’s great eyecandy, and can pull off really corny lines, but i prefer his held-back acting a bit more in todaw than iljimae. but anyway. so much or originality. πŸ™‚

  7. doris p LOVE kangJIhwan
    Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    have first seen LJK in My Girl and it took me almost half of the series before I can convince myself that he really is a HE coz he really is prettier than the lead actress there! lol ….. and in TODAW am glad that he cut his hair short there though I must say he is still prettier than the lead actress hehe…. am still halfway through of finishing Ijimae, and while watching it have also found some similarities but till I look at your list did I know that they were that many, but as you said am glad LJK performs the two almost similar character in different ways …. and in both series LJK show that he isn’t just an eye candy but can also acts really well, he’s one of the few who really moves me to tears with his ‘crying part’ in a drama esp in Iljimae, am on my 11th eps but have already cried with LJK at least 4x (if my memory serves me well), have love him more coz of that, coz he moves me to tears…hmmm, i sound kinda weird there right?….but anyways, another thing I love about LJK is his smile along with his perfect teeth, sigh, still can see them with my eyes closed….

  8. cantabileblue
    Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    You are right. Because i think in “I saw this somewere” when I watch Iljimae, start to think were I saw it, and rewacht TODAW. We have pretty much the same conclusions.
    I watch all JunKi works and I think hes best is in action characters. Iljimae was really good, but I like him best in TODAW.
    And you are right again when you said Iljimae writers watch TODAW.

  9. Dew Lite
    Friday, October 17, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I also have picked all the points you made but would like to add one more.

    Lee Soo Yeon and Lee Kyum were stolen a kiss by the girl whom they were not in love. Hee hee hee.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

