Home > Chinese Dramas, Previews & Trailers > Super-long trailer, Legend of Condor Heroes 2008

Super-long trailer, Legend of Condor Heroes 2008

Monday, July 7, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

They’ve finished filming for about two months now, and broadcast projections are everywhere from May (obviously impossible) to July, to after the Olympics, which would make it after September. I should know, I’ve checked on what feels like one thousand and one Chinese forums.

Since wordpress is dysfunctional about posting videos not from google, youtube or dailymotion, I have to link you. A word of warning: it’s 18:44 long.

Click for the trailer.

Lawls. I know people have said this was the idol version of the Legend of Condor Heroes, but I didn’t think they were serious. Obviously, now I know better.

Still, Ariel Lin is sufficiently cute and charming to carry off the role of Huang Rong, even without being a stunning beauty (if Liu Yifei could actually act, I would like to see her in the role, but as it is, Ariel isn’t half bad – please don’t overact it!). Hu Ge is far too pretty but still passable as the dumb but honest Guo Jing, from what I see. Yang Kang is dashing, at least, this time around, which is an agreeable change from the last version. Mu Nian Ci is still very pretty, and very tragic – but much less screen time, so all I can tell you right now is that she handles a mean spear.

I loved the Mei Chao Feng from the 2003 version, and I think it will be terribly hard for anyone to beat that performance. Her hands were beautiful and the dancing too and I just loved everything! The new one looks more wild than anything.

I love that the Genghis Khan in the 08 version was a general of Khan’s army in the 03 version. I have this terrible urge to giggle every time I see him on screen. Hua Zheng and mommy Guo get more proactive roles, which I like, but the Jin army is depicted as much more powerful, which is slightly bothersome in terms of plot logic. (And to those who’ve wondered, yes, I do talk like that. It leads to confusion and adds to the fun of life.)

I’m worried about the changes they’re making to the script (and thus the original source material)… just little things that bother me. Like that Bao Xi Ruo was turned into a power-hungry beauty who didn’t want to be picked on, or that Yang Kang suddenly grew a conscience (he was mostly a selfish, craven bastard when we last saw him), and – this is really really detailed now – they’ve changed one of the names of the moves Guo Jing uses. It’s not 亢龙在天, people. It’s 亢龙有悔 and 飞龙在天. (That’s just three out of about eighteen, in case you’re wondering.)

Anyway. Comparison/parallel would be (yay descent into detail) – like having Voldie say abra cadabra instead of avada kedavra. Doesn’t sound so different, but kind of stupid and corny when you test it out. If they’re trying to outdo the source material, then they are in so much trouble. Seriously, and not from me.

(Of course I’m a stickler for exactitude, are you kidding? This is the girl who felt shafted by every Harry Potter movie except for PoA, and that had nothing to do with adherence to plot. And did you know Prince Caspian in NINE in the books? He sure doesn’t look nine in the movie.)

Still, I eagerly await this newest version of the oft-remade Condor series. 😀

Sevenses

P.S. One day, I may be up to writing out a synopsis of the book. Maybe. ;P

  1. irugnotmis
    Monday, July 7, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    i am going to attribute this difference to a matter of interpretation, but i honestly don’t think Guo Jing is “dumb”. he is on the obtuse side no doubt, but more inflexible than “dumb”, which is why i didn’t like Li Ya Peng’s portrayal. take one of my friends’ words, “郭靖是憨厚,不是愚蠢”.

    but man, seems like this drama is going to clash with school when it comes around to finally broadcast.

  2. sevenses
    Tuesday, July 8, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    He’s not stupid dumb, he’s slow dumb. Jin Yong himself writes that Guo Jing is more than a little ‘迟钝’. I think Hu Ge is doing a fine job, but he’s a bit too good-looking for the role (kind of like Keira Knightley with P&P).

    Oh yeah. Let me know about tag-teaming that one, yeah?

  3. irugnotmis
    Tuesday, July 8, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    that’s gonna be a hard one to recap in general.
    i just hope they’re not airing 5 episodes per week. it’d be HARD to keep up.

  4. sevenses
    Wednesday, July 9, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    i just hope they’re not airing 5 episodes per week. it’d be HARD to keep up.

    Meep.

  5. irugnotmis
    Thursday, July 10, 2008 at 11:10 am

    let me watch an episode or two to decide whether i want to recap it or not. it’s gonna be intense!

  6. sevenses
    Monday, July 14, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I think I’m going to do five episodes per recap. That should lighten the load somewhat. You really don’t have to if it stresses you!

    Episodes 1 -17 are up at Xiaoli’s. 😀

  7. yiyi
    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 5:01 am

    I, also had finished the legend condors heroes 2008, the most screen i like, that…. when finally rung er’ dad agree his daughter will marrie kuo jing. pay attention to the ‘dumb’ and happy express on the face’s kou jing ( im sorry forgot which episode..)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

