Home > Korean Dramas, Rambling > A word on character schizophrenia

A word on character schizophrenia

Saturday, June 21, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Or, um, maybe several hundred.

Has anyone else noticed that Iljimae/Yong/Kyum has more personalities than he does names? We’ve got tons.

– Idiot (mainly in class with nobles)
– Victim (again, mainly with stronger authority)
– Street boy (usually seen with mafia dude)
– Crazed avenger (whenever his sister comes up into the conversation)
– Soulful loverboy (Eun Chae! Eun Chae!)
– Schemer (um, all the time, really)
– Slick thief guy (Iljimae time)
– Genteel guy (with Eun Chae, and when he has to beat up people, residue of Kyum)
– Angst broody guy (whenever the past comes up)
– Insouciant playboy (also with Eun Chae, after she starts to dislike him, and when off-duty from mafia)

The only other person I can think of who approaches this type of personality count, who isn’t supposed to have clinical schizophrenia, would be Cedric Edward Cullen. And he’s pretty much a wish-fulfillment female fantasy character. I’d say Iljimae is a cut above that. Several, as I have pretty strident views on Twilight. Anyway, I’m not sure what this is supposed to say about him – he’s smart enough to react at the blink of an eye and put tons of masks on and off? (Makes for terribly complicated living, but then his life is pretty messed up already.)

Additionally, despite having 10 episodes, I don’t feel as close as I should to the people in the drama. That isn’t to say I don’t like them. I do. I find Swe Dol terribly sweet and self-effacing, I think Dani needs a good weekend at a spa, I want the monk dude to impart his wisdom to Yong. I love Bong Soon, even if she is too loud (kind of like me, actually) and very impulsive. I feel like giving Kyum a hug, or maybe the king’s head on a silver platter. Sometimes I’d like to hug Shi Hoo, and sometimes I think I should sign him up for a yoga session (and slip him some psychiatry appointments when he can’t get away). Shi Wan I think I shall hang upside down in a tree for a year with bread and water once a day.

Eun Chae I can’t do anything with, she’s too perfect, but you know, I’m starting to like this fangirly side of her. It’s like her entire family is crazy (yes, that includes moody older bro Shi Hoo) so she has to hold everything together, and that’s just turned her into a human robot.

I remember watching Hong Gil Dong: by episode 12 I was head over heels in love with Chang Hui, very concerned for Enok and Gil Dong, and wishful of my own Chisu. But here, I don’t get the same vibe at all. It’s a great deal like work, trying to love the characters. And like Josephine Barry from Anne of Green Gables, I do like for other people to make us love them, because it save the work of having to try yourself.

I’m not sure if it’s because I’m afraid to commit myself to another drama after what happened in HGD, or if it’s because these people are two-dimensional, or whatever. It’s still an enjoyable experience, but less intense and more goof. (They still haven’t gotten rid of the random impossible things – I mean, the only way to logically accept all this is to stop thinking and go along with it, but when I don’t think, I don’t bond with the characters either. It’s kind of like a Jackie Chan movie that way.)

Oh well. It’s summer. What was I expecting?

Sevenses

  1. flyingcrispi
    Saturday, June 21, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    I only watched to episode 4 (waiting for subs…) so I can’t really tell about all the schizophrenia things, but so far it’s true!

    I read a joke about schizophrenia not so long ago :
    A dude : “We voted, and with a majority of 12 against 5, we decided we were not schizophrenic.”

    Anyway, is there a music day where you live? Because it was today here, and the whole city was filled with ppl and music, it was great!

  2. sevenses
    Sunday, June 22, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Things get better progressively in the show, so yeah, don’t worry. It’s just funny that they’ll occasionally have really impossible stuff happen.

    Haha, that’s really funny. (It sounds more like multiple personality disorder, but none of them are aware of one another, so maybe not.)

    Um, no? But we have a crapload of festivals.

  3. allie
    Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 4:14 am

    the schizophrenia thing totally made me LOL.

    you forgot him playing the lazy and hopeless son with his parents. or is that classified under “idiot”.

    I didn’t know who Edward Cullen is and went to read up on him haha. (random)

    I LOVE SWE DOL i hope he gets loads of business and sacks of money.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

