Prospective Dramas

Friday, April 25, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, while I was off nursing my wounds from Hong Gil Dong and various real life stuff, I’d realized that it’s time to dive back into the spirit of full-scale drama obsession once more!

Hence this post.

Stuff that look interesting:

Legend of the Condor Heroes (2007 version, as opposed to the 1795613878 other versions)

Trailer below:

Guo Jin – Hu Ge
Yang Kang – Yuan Hong
Huang Rong – Ariel Lin
Mu Nianci – Lu Sisi

Ariel Lin strikes me as a particularly impish Huang Rong, which will make a welcome change to Zhou Xun’s rather more OOC performance. Don’t get me wrong – I like Zhou Xun, but the job description calls for a scintillatingly lively and cheeky girl, which she wasn’t.

Not too stuck on the other characters, especially as they’re probably going to play up Ouyang dude’s role. And try to redeem Yang Kang. Geurkness. I liked them evil and one dimensional, plskthx. The last one was awesome for side roles (and main roles if you disregard the source material on the girl’s side…).

Filming and release has been delayed due to Hu Ge’s back injury – a bad thing for martial arts epics, we know.

I hope they won’t mess the original novel too much… I have had it up to here with creatively ‘fusion’ historical dramas.

(Just noticed – there’s one actor who’s been in both versions, though in different roles. See if you can spot him! Will do a Legend 03 version post ASAP.)

Il Ji Mae

Yet another Robin Hood-esque do-gooder story. This time starring Lee Junki. I keep telling myself I’m interested because I want to cure my HGD melancholy, but the real reason is that I’m watching it just for the eyecandy.

It’s supposed to start broadcasting sometime in May, but there’s been delays and pushbacks, so keep your ears open.

Hana Yori Dango the movie

Trailer/teaser below:

Okaaaaay. The English sub got moved… so here’s the rough translation.

Domyouji: Marry me, Tsukushi!

“Presenting the drama that was such a hit, they made it into a movie!” [Pan of main characters, tralalala, look at the pretty lights.]

Voiceover: We ran all over the world for love.

Domyouji: What the heck is this?!

Tsukushi: Wha… that guy!

It’s not much, but dudes, it’s Hanadan. What else do I need to say? Comes out June 28.

Love,

Sevenses

  1. Jess
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    HYD FTW! 😀 (By the way, the dubbed video doesn’t work 😦 )

  2. idabi
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I just had to say that Ariel Lin looks like a duck. She does!

  3. sevenses
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Jess – I tried, sorry, but it’s probably privatised. Rough translation provided where the trailer was.

    Idabi – Someone should be at practice, yo.

  4. idabi
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Hey. I’m tired. T_Y

  5. sevenses
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Hm. Fine. Better see you next week then.

  6. irugnotmis
    Friday, April 25, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I can’t wait for Condor Heroes 2008 to start broadcasting!

  7. JaneSc
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    HI Sevenses, do you watch jdorama? If yes, are you watching zettai kareshi (absolute boyfriend)? Currently boardcasting over at TBS on Tuesday. Recommend it to get over HGD. Its funny and entertaining.

  8. sevenses
    Thursday, May 1, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks JaneSc! I’ll add it to my list of series to watch!

  9. xx
    Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Il Ji Mae is with Junki?
    damn…i want to watch it now (just cuz of him xD)
    already have so many dramas that i want to watch >_>
    and i know i won’t watch them all….
    last friend (ryo DVing masami ;), gokusen 3 (yankumi & kyotou sensei = rofl, but heysay guy kind of turns me off…), the Devil (Toma is going to play in the jpn version of it~~going to be the inspector and Ohno from Arashi, the lawyer), another Taiga (Yoshitsune was too good), HanaKimi SP is coming out this summer and i’m still waiting for Pi’s new drama (rumors…)
    (yeah, i’m making my list here and i know u made this post one month ago…)

  10. sevenses
    Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    There are two versions, I believe, one with Lee Junki and one with Lee Seung Gi – the one with LSG has been delayed – but the one with LJK is coming out the 21st. Our last exam is that day anyway, so you can get the subs or smtg the next day 😀

    I compel yoooooooou.

    My to-watch list is huge. Have ya seen? (Hanakimi SP?)

  11. john
    Saturday, January 3, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Hana Yori Dango is basically the same as the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer… the idea of a normal girl becoming caught up in a world of extra-special beings, who feel she is so special she is worth fighting over.

    That is what makes romance work. All girls want to be that girl.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

