Home > Books & Magazines, Cultural & Political, Rambling > I’m gone for four days…

I’m gone for four days…

Wednesday, April 23, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

… and the world explodes.

Currently on ye olde radar:

– The Clinton-Obama-never-ending-contest-of-doom. At this point, dudes. It’s redundant to say anything. Mostly what can be said has already been spewed out there. My adding some verbal diarrhea to this subject doesn’t do anything…

– Montreal people rioting over their home team’s win. Get this. Their hockey team wins, after a lot of tension as to whether they’ll beat the Boston Bruins, and what do they do? They torch cars, beat up police, and scare lots of people on Ste. Catherine’s. Good going, drunken hockey fans. I knew I could count on you for a good, sensible time.

– And J.K. Rowling decides that the HP Lexicon is debasing, pilfered, and badly put-together. Plus, she’s suing Steve Vander Ark for copyright infringement, among other things. I think most of this was Warner’s doing – because which super-popular fantasy series hasn’t sprung more than a few encyclopedic compilations by fans? Admittedly Tolkien is dead and Gaiman is flattered, but how much richer than disgustingly rich do you want to be? Yes, it’s her baby. But she’s used it herself to keep the facts straight during writing – which she has admitted to. I have zero use for the Lexicon, having long stepped out of that particular fandom, but if she honestly thinks fans are out to rip Harry Potter off and make money, she’s going to lose a lot of fans. (Plus, SVA has lots of loyal fanboys, as evidenced by the showing at Prophecy. Just a warning.)

And you may have noticed that the layout has changed… I got tired of the comment thread running waaaaaaaaaaay down where the sidebar ends, so I did a bit of switching around. Am self-professedly bad at this whole CSS/html thing, so it’s pretty much the original layout provided.

Exams. Ha. Do not study the night before. That is all I’m saying.

Sevenses

  1. irugnotmis
    Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Yay for the new layout!
    I saw Sweeney Todd in your currently interested list! 😀 All I can say is Johnny Depp surprised me with his singing 🙂
    and Welcome back!

  2. flyingcrispi
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 12:45 am

    Hey, I drop by 5 minutes before I leave, and what do I see? New post! YAY!
    The CSS is great, even though I’m used to the old one (may he repose in peace). How did your exams go?

    Lots of love,
    flyingcrispi.

  3. sevenses
    Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Thanks guys!

    I think Johnny Depp was actually part of a band before he became an actor, so his singing shouldn’t be too bad… but Rickman stole the cake, for me – “You gandered at my ward!” Yum. (Btw, did you notice the Bellatrix-Pettigrew-Snape triangle of doom? Someone’s been practicing for HP6… several, in fact)

    I loved the old layout, but the comment thread was getting a bit dysfunctional with shorter posts. Plus, I’m dysfunctional with headers, so all that custom flexibility got wasted.

    Exam results are not in – and I have another round starting the 13th. Expect some agonized mewling from this direction.

    Luuuurve,
    Sevenses

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

