Quick News Update

Thursday, September 18, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

To all and sundry who have loved Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker series, this is either going to be great, or horrible:

Book 6 is due to be written by Eoin Colfer, he of Artemis Fowl fame.

Permission was granted by Adams’ widow, and the new book will continue the adventures of Arthur, Zaphod, and Marvin. (I thought – spoiler spoiler – they all died?) Tentative publish date set at October 2009.

Hmm. I’m not sure Colfer’s style is altogether similar to the delicious satire we all know and love.

Also, in other news, this article has people talking (and capslocking, and swearing, and being bad debaters).

Title? I had sex with my brother but I don’t feel guilty.

Uh. Yeah. What she said. If it works for her, I guess – it could also be denial or Stockholm or the simple fact that it’s her normal?

Also, Nicholas Sparks, who has given us such gems as The Notebook and A Walk to Remember.

He is going to write a book that will be used for a movie for Miley Cyrus.

*Shudder* *Runs away screaming*

Interesting day for the press,

Sevenses

  1. flyingcrispi
    Thursday, September 18, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Wooo, that’s a lot to process.

    I haven’t read any of the Hitchhiker thing so I don’t feel concerned (but I luved Artemis Fowl, so I can’t be that bad!)

    The woman who had sex with her brother: don’t care much but it doesn’t make it less creepy… Maybe some kind of childhood trauma? Anyway, if she didn’t felt guilty or anything, why on earth would she tell the press?
    People are weird.

    Who’s Miley Cyrus?

    JK. And that will be a movie I won’t see. Ever. Ewww. I mean, can she even act?

  2. flyingcrispi
    Thursday, September 18, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Wooo, that’s a lot to process.

    I haven’t read any of the Hitchhiker thing so I don’t feel concerned (but I luved Artemis Fowl, so I can’t be that bad!)

    The woman who had sex with her brother: don’t care much but it doesn’t make it less creepy… Maybe some kind of childhood trauma? Anyway, if she didn’t feel guilty or anything, why on earth would she tell the press?
    People are weird.

    Who’s Miley Cyrus?

    JK. And that will be a movie I won’t see. Ever. Ewww. I mean, can she even act?

  3. Ronan
    Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    I’m bored, and the incest-article was interesting, so I’mma respond.

    I would be inclined to say that the woman’s relationship with her brother is perfectly healthy (after all, everything is *relative* =D), what with the whole “if they love each other, and no harm is done” argument, but the whole affair (ha! puns!) just struck me as, for lack of a better word, wrong. What I mean is that I question her repeated assertions that everything was loving and equal.

    1) The relationship started when her brother came into her room, DRUNK, while she was asleep. Granted, love is spontaneous, but the fact that it started off with alcohol and the element of surprise makes it suspect. She’s writing this years later, so she’s had plenty of time to convince herself that everything felt good (which I’m sure it did – physically, anyway). Sure it didn’t “feel forced” – she was half-asleep! The only options would be to justify it and convince yourself that it felt right, or face the reality that your brother just groped you.

    2) She claims that they “both went out with other people and there was never any jealousy”, but concedes right afterwards that she “found it hard to be physically intimate with anyone else.” If you’re still awkward with other people years later, it means that it’s affecting your relationships with other men.

    3) The sister-in-law is wary of the author, and the author concedes that when Daniel turned 30, she was jealous of the sister-in-law. Yeah, I’m sure that can’t be unacknowledged jealousy showing itself subconsciously.

    4) Her brother offered to call off his wedding if the author wanted him to. This means that, contrary to what she says about the relationship loving and equal and right, Daniel either isn’t committed to his wife (that she’s second-best, and that he’s settling for her because he can’t have his sister), which would mean that the relationship has affected his view of women, or that there is an element of control in the relationship that the author glossed over. Regardless, the fact that they are so dependent on one another is cause for concern. Note, here, that the brother is not asking for his sister’s opinion of his fiancee – he is letting his sister decide how he lives his life, without questioning why.

    Anyhoo, just thought I’d sound off on that. I know you love to read comments with more than a modicum of thought invested into them, and I’m interested to hear what you think of my points.

    P.S.- Isn’t Stockholm syndrome only related to forcible confinement?

  4. Idabi
    Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I’m bored as well (even though I should be working) so I’mma responding as well. I read that article a month ago (oh Digg, the things you can find on it) and I still don’t understand. I don’t think I’ll ever understand. If I remember correctly, she was sort of persuaded by her brother to follow along, right? She should know that that sort of sexual relationship is wrong and not meant to be. I don’t understand why she still clings on.

  5. Idabi
    Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    And Miley Cyrus is a terrible actor. Her Hannah Montana show makes me cringe. Sorry for the double comment.

    Lots of love,

    Idabi

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

